Robertson Co. KY, becomes 2A sanctuary county


By: Ledger Independent
5 Feb 2020

MOUNT OLIVET — Robertson County Fiscal Court recently approved a resolution that would make the county a Second Amendment sanctuary county.

A Robertson County resident told the fiscal court that she had nearly 200 signatures on petitions requesting the county to pass the resolution.

“I’m here on behalf of the citizens of Robertson County to propose the Second Amendment sanctuary county,” she said. “There are several laws that have been proposed — three of those being red flag laws — that infringe on the Second Amendment process. I think this is something very important for us — for our lawmakers to come together and tell Frankfort we won’t stand for more gun laws.”

The resolution was approved unanimously by magistrates.

Recently, Bracken, Lewis and Fleming counties adopted sanctuary county statuses. Mason County chose instead to adopt a resolution affirming support for the Second Amendment, but did not pass one that would give the county sanctuary status.

Among the pre-filed bills is House Bill 502 which has a number of requirements, some of which include banning guns on all college campuses, banning the sale of bump stocks, and allowing local governments to implement firearm regulations.

Bill Request 187, pre-filed in July, repeals authorization to carry concealed deadly weapons without a license.

And recently, newly elected Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear, Democrat, called for legislation to help prevent Kentuckians who may be a harm to themselves or others from gaining access to guns. They are generally referred to as “red flag laws.”

to read the full article click here.